Rolling Thunder Forums

Some Newbie questions

Gixxer

Hi,

I just started playing SN:ROTE, I have a winged humanoid race, based on angels, or at least how they appear in popular fiction. I sent in my first turnsheet a few days ago, with only a few mistakes - (I tried making Construction Materials before I'd built the steel for it, and I had assumed the Hydorelectric yield formula was the same as the mining formula) Apart from that, I think I have a handle on production :-)

A couple of things I am not quite clear on though, so any help and clarifications would be appreciated:

1 How do I get fuel from my pop group onto my fleets? Do I use the Load Cargo order, or would this just put a bunch of fuel into the cargo holds? (or fail, as I don't have anything except Pathfinders at the moment)?

2 Would building cities on my homeworld do anything useful? The description of Cities refers to alien flora and fauna attacking the colonists, but even home-grown animals can kill population, eg, hippos, lions and polar bears. I just wondered if there is a reproduction modifier that applies to home worlds that would be offset by building cities there.

3 Lastly, the ORB order on my homeworld describes it as "virgin territory, ripe for exploration", so does this mean that I can usefully carry out EXPL orders on my homeworld (as soon as I build a decent exploration ship - 25k cargo holds, survey lander and science lab, etc)? Just sounds a bit odd, going into orbit, then heading back down to the surface in a Survey Lander! - you'd think the home system would have been explored (using Survey Landers) long before they were put onto a spaceship.

Thanks for any help you can give,

Gixxer

• Replies 142
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's been a long time since I've thought of some of the beginning/basic stuff, but I'll do my best to answer what I can. If I get some of the finer details wrong, I'm sure someone will add the correct info.