Jump to content
Rolling Thunder Forums
Steerpike

Where does installation construction fall in the order sequence?

Recommended Posts

Hi all,

Apologies as this has likely been asked before.  I tried searching but couldn't find an answer (without digging through the hundreds of search results).  Anyway, where does construction of new installations fall within the production sequence described in the rules:

Power Generation
Shipyards
Fuel Refineries
Resource Extraction
Stripmining Complexes
Industrial Complexes
Other

Thank you!

Vasco

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Installations are constructed immediately upon the order being issued. So if on your third order you wish to build a city it is built on the third order. Or, if you need to build a Transportation Center and then use it that same turn you can build it and then use at the following order and it's just fine. Installation construction really has nothing to do with the end of turn sequence. Now if you put some orders in a convoy route so that you automatically build installations, then those installations get built within the running of the Convoy route in their proper order.

Good luck,

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, Hobknob!  That makes perfect sense.  My roundabout question was really about whether or not I could rely on items and materials produced/extracted on a turn for construction of installations the same turn, and the answer would be no based on your response.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is correct. If you are building Construction Materials on Turn 1, they will be available on Turn 2 for your CON orders. However, if you build 100 iron mines on Turn 1, they will produce iron on Turn 1 during resource generation stage and before your production orders.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Sakarissa said:

That is correct. If you are building Construction Materials on Turn 1, they will be available on Turn 2 for your CON orders. However, if you build 100 iron mines on Turn 1, they will produce iron on Turn 1 during resource generation stage and before your production orders.

Thank you, very helpful!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While you can build installations at any time in your order phase, those installation only work during their appointed time.  Your power is generated, then your mines work providing materials and then your industries build what you have them assigned top build.  After that the shipyards work on ships that have been assigned in the turn or in previous turns and not completed, etc.

 

:cheers:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got it.  That makes sense as well, thank you.

On a unrelated subject, am I correct in thinking that shipyards only user power when they are in use themselves?  Looking at my turn report, I have excess power that I thought would've been used by the shipyards.  And is that the case with other installations as well that they only use power when they are being used?

Thank you again!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No, shipyards use power just sitting there.  You can see this when you don't have enough power and you are not building any ships and are still short of power.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks again.  I must be missing something.  My turn shows 100,000 power produced.  I have 85,000 stripmining complexes and 100 shipyard.  Yet my excess power is listed as 15,000?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All of your mines should also use power.  There are also some installations that don't correctly subtract from the power total.

 

If you are short on power somewhere I would check your numbers and then ask the all knowing what's the deal is.  Or do what I do, always have surplus power, always...

 

:cheers:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I actually have excess power relative to what I expected so I either messed up the calculations (likely) or have a self-powered shipyard (not likely) 😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Andromeda, the power surplus mentioned in the turn report has never been correct in the 10+ years I have played. Pete has never been able to figure it out. If this system has never been fixed for the launch of Draco, then expect the report to be wrong.  Trust your calculation and always have some excess.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, Lugal.  I think that's the missing piece to my puzzle.  I was trying to get my results to match up with the excess power listed in the turn report.  It looks like that issue is still present in Draco.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...

×
×
  • Create New...