Rolling Thunder Forums

Newbie Question

Roguekitty

So I'm fairly new to the game, getting my race out into the galaxy and exploring, researching fun new technology, etc, etc. All this seems to result in an AWFUL lot of data. System scans, planet maps, geological surveys, colonial attrition survey, ANZ's on new technology with information on build costs, etc, etc, etc. I often find myself, in the course of doing my turn, having to refer back to many of my previous turn reports to check just which planet it was that was amenable to my particular brand of life, and where had the good resource yields, and just what the heck did that newfangled jump drive need to build anyways? And I can only imagine it's going to get worse as time goes by.

So my question to you more experienced types is this... how the HECK do you efficiently keep track of all this?

Roguekitty,

Take a look at some of the older posts from Cestvel regarding Graphviz and SNFindPath. His SNFindPath creation is very useful.

Do a search for Phasedragon's spreadsheets. His tools no longer work due to turn layout upgrades and pdf upgrades. However they may provide an idea of what information you want to track and how to store data such as tech requirements.

To date, Cestvel (search his posts) is the only known player who has a tool that sorts data from pdf files and puts it into a format. Doesn't work on windows, and he has answered the questions about it in his previous posts.

Good luck,

Lord Uriel

Roguekitty,

Take a look at some of the older posts from Cestvel regarding Graphviz and SNFindPath. His SNFindPath creation is very useful.

Do a search for Phasedragon's spreadsheets. His tools no longer work due to turn layout upgrades and pdf upgrades. However they may provide an idea of what information you want to track and how to store data such as tech requirements.