Rolling Thunder Forums

Help for Newbies

jstrait

I am getting ready to start my first game of Victory! (although I am a veteran PBMer coming off a long hiatus) and am looking for some general guidance for the first few turns. The rules are a bit daunting, especially regarding logisitics. Any advice from the veterans out there? Any key things to make sure you do (or don't do) to prevent major blunders? Thanks!

1. Read the rules adendum, very important changes in there. At least IMHO.

2. When in doubt on something, ask Russ. Russ gives awesome answers to questions.

3. Remember any contact with other players is always diplomacy. If you are in central europe and a neighbor nation tells you he is looking forward to a united central europe....make sure he is including in that.

4. Do not assume.

5. Do not assume your oponent(s) will assume.

6. Many experienced players will offer to take you under their wing and use you for cannon fodder. While this can be a good way to learn, be watchful of it. If you choose to allow this, fine. Just be aware of it.

7. If you come with a new tactic...don't share it. Look at how you will defend against it when your enemy figures out its a good tactic and uses it on you.

8. Alliance is just another way to say 'Not yet, later." Total alliance is just another way of saying "Maybe later, maybe not."

Thats a good start for ya.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi and welcome to Victory!

:drunk:

I'm pretty new myself. Played 16 cycles in game 74 (8 months real time). So I'm probably a good adviser for your question(s).

:cheers:

I'll add some things, apart from what Beltira said...

Yea. There are a lot of rules to remember. You'll need a good memory at first, but after a while, some things will become habitual, and you'll only refer to them, when doing some specialty type of actions.

- You'll have to understand the logistics end. No way around it.