Rolling Thunder Forums

What Does It Mean to be a Soldier?

Sven Drake

Hello, everyone. I'm sure all of you know that I'm a US Army veteran, and a very proud one at that. The following is a blog that I posted on Myspace a couple of years ago. It's rather lengthy, but I think you'll enjoy it. What better place to post this, than on a forum for a game that recreates World War Two?

What Does It Mean to be a Soldier?

Well, this is a question that will certainly have different answers to different people. And I can say that the answer has changed for me over the years. Maybe you can say that I have evolved, as a human being and as an American, as I have gotten older. So, today, one week shy of my 51st birthday, I pose this question to all. What does it mean to be a soldier?

When I enlisted, back in 1977, I originally just thought of it as a way to toughen me up, for when I eventually go into the police academy. That's right; back then I had high hopes of a career in law enforcement. Why, then, did I go for a Military Intelligence MOS, instead of Military Police? Well, you can thank my brother for that. He volunteered for the draft in '68, after graduating from college. He served two years, all of it at the Pentagon. So, naturally, he thinks he knows everything there is to know about the Army. Yeah, right.

During my eventual seven years of service, we all had a code to live by, which defined who we were. This Code of Conduct was written after the Korean War. Here it is:

The Code of Conduct

I

I am an American, fighting in the forces which guard my country and our way of life. I am prepared to give my life in their defense.

II

I will never surrender of my own free will. If in command, I will never surrender the members of my command while they still have the means to resist.

III