Rolling Thunder Forums

Research Effectiveness

tigeriith

I am a newbie and trying to gauge how effective my research is progressing and cannot find any concrete metrics to us. There seems to be some information but none that can be used in an analytical way.

1) How effective is my race at research -- The research ability on the Life Form modifiers part of the report has no scale -- how do I determine what my basic reasearch out put is in Research Points per turn?

2) On the Research report does each "-" represent one research point expended or a certain percentage of the total required -- I am new and most of my research has been done on "12 point" categories so can't really tell if a "-" is a point or 5 percent?

3) Any other tips on quantifying the percentage increase from various characters and installations?

Thanks for the help

Each -- on the report is about 10% completed. This will already take into account your RB and any scientist hits that might have gotten.

Sometimes they go slow and other times they go fast. Exploration hits will also add to the total so it is entirely possible to start researching something for the first time and already a significant way down the path to completion if you have done a lot of exploration.

:ph34r:

Your lifeform research bonus can only be calculated by looking at all of your lifeform choices. The bars on the turn report only give a comparison to other items. Absolute %'s and #'s are never provided and are only guessed at by the community.

Careful observation of your reserach completion times will give you the best answer to your question. Most of the early techs were pinned down pretty well as to research cost. Using the cost/time you can get a good idea of what has been happening. You just can't muddy the water with scientist hits or exploration hits.

:thumbsup::thumbsup: