Rolling Thunder Forums

Well, what country?

Squash

Hey, my name is Squash - or Josh, brand spanking new to the community:D Hiya. I've been reading through the rules though so apart from experience I know how to play. Of course that's the problem, I have no experience and I'm kinda afraid I'll get trounced in turn 3. Im at University so money is tight, this'll be the only game, can't play two simultaniously, so I really want to do well, or at least survive. Anyways, I missed the deadline for game 72, but that's okay, I don't mind waiting for 73, and the way I figure it I've got one of the first picks for country right? So what do you guys suggest for a first country keeping in mind I want to survive past turn 3? I was thinking about Norway, or Greece opinions?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Greece is a difficult country.

Norway is an average country

Saudi, Persia, Spain, Morocco are good nations to start with.

Pick German tech to start the game with and concentrate on gound units and bombers and a few fighters.

Build MECH units to start and later on Panzer units.

don't spend to much on fixed defenses

build 1 LDB in every warzone province and city

build 3 SEC in every conquered city with population

connect conquered cities into AIC networks

make sure your units never run out of fuel and mun

plan ahead in all aspects (rail, supplies, arm, air, tactics)

Josh,

i would advice towards a medium size country. Spain or alike.

these countries give you some room for error but don't have the burden of extensive logistic problems like the Russia's.

On the side of tech:

- German tech has good ground and air capebilities and limited naval,

- Russian tech has good groud capabilities but limited Naval and air,

- Bittish tech has good air and naval options and early in the game acceptable ground units.