Rolling Thunder Forums

Pete, how about an Advanced Fuel Shuttle?

El Capitan

I moved this from the "AP, how does it work" thread to something more appropriate.

I have never heard Pete say, "Sorry your turns are late because of all of these high AP convoy routes." Rather I hear him say these really big battles are slowing down the processing and then Locklyn :jawdrop: admits he attacked another empire.

Typically, Pete says very little on the board. Just because he doesn't say it doesn't mean it's not an issue. Here's what Pete said this past cycle...

Orders are done--running industrial production, research etc now. Then on to snapshots, pdf conversion, data files. Many hours to go (this part actually takes quite a while), but now it's in the grind-it-out phase. And we even lose an hour to daylight savings time, ugh.

So, "many hours" (and "many" does not mean just 2 or 3) are needed to finish turn processing after the orders and battles are processed. I'm not a programmer or computer expert, but common sense tells me that the number of empires being processed per cycle and the number of pages generated per empire have to have an impact on processing time. Not just during order processing but also in this post order processing phase.

If this is the case, then extremely high AP convoy routes must be having an impact on processing time, even if Pete hasn't mentioned it directly.

But here's the problem. Hobknob is absolutely correct when he says that large empire management would not be possible without high AP convoy routes. Artificially lowering the cap on AP would be disastrous to the game. It would cripple an empire's ability to successfully trade, colonize, expand, explore, and generate fuel. The effect on fuel generation alone would be enough to stifle an empire's ability to grow and expand, and without this ability the game would quickly die off.