Rolling Thunder Forums

Newbee Questions

Dai

As the header says I am new to SN and there are two questions I am wondering about after the first turn:

1.) The first turn I made 6 new fleets from Fleet 101 and transfered 6 pathfinder and 1200 fuel each to this new fleets. Then tried to fly to the stars in my system and to scan. But the transfers did not work - the error messages do not tell me why. Is it not possible to make a new fleet and use the ID# the same turn?

2.) In the second turn I was really surprised that I do know nothing about my home planet. In the first turn I got some information about resource yields and in the second it was lost in space, does this mean when I want to know something about my resources yields I have to rescan it or I have to look in my setup for it? Or have I overseen a database function in the editor?

I am going to scan all the planets and moons in my system, I hope that I have not to use the old fashioned way to keep the infos I get there by copying it from the pdf File to homemade text file. Any hints?

Thanks in advance for your answers

Dai

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

1) To make new fleets do the following:

NEWF, 101, 102, 102nd Recon

RN, 101, 102, Pathfinder, 1, Fuel

...repeat

Also you want to do the splitting before you do any actions with 101 or all of the fleets will fewer APs left.

2) You have to keep lots of external databases to track that info. Graphic star map, system scans, planet maps, CSVs, contact logs, ship design specifics, etc.

If you got a print out of every planet you scanned each turn or even each system you have scanned, it would not take long for the file being sent to you would be HUGE! and also if it was done for everybody, it would take DAYS for all the files to be sent to everybody.

Besides, half the fun is getting all the info down (there is a free set of files from Phasedragon that may help.. see the other thread)

Hello Dai and welcome to the game!